First contact with dawn

The title is a play on words. One meaning is the first contact we have with the rising sun each day. That very first crest of red in the early morning that cracks open our beings with the full life force of the sun. The other comes from meeting Dawn Germyn. I had the good fortune of taking a workshop with Dawn focusing on intuitive mark making. Since that meeting many connective tissues between myself and the source of creativity have been healing and growing again.

First contact with dawn

First contact with dawn

This is one of many “Fissure” pieces that I have done and will continue to study. Please feel free to comment as I love to hear other people’s thoughts on art (or whatever).

peace,
harold

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

10 Responses to “First contact with dawn”

  1. ali Says:

    thank you for visiting my blog! your work is amazing as well. I especially love this “fissure” piece. Simple and brilliant.

  2. haroldfeddersen Says:

    Ali, it’s an honour for me to see that you have visited my blog, And not only visited, but commented. And not even just those two, but that you like one of my pieces is wonderful. I appreciate you taking the time to visit and comment. The “Fissure” series is continuing and I will post more as they rise to a level worth sharing. I just received my Golden copper so I can begin to lay down some images that arose within me last summer.

    peace,
    harold

  3. Rachel Says:

    love this

  4. haroldfeddersen Says:

    Thank you Rachel. I would love to hear what you like about it. It may be hard to put into words, but what is it in this that you connect with?

    peace,
    harold

  5. Rachel Says:

    ….um, it reminded me of growth. looks like a vine that is expanding, blossoming. looks japanese inspired.

  6. haroldfeddersen Says:

    That is so interesting Rachel. I have never thought of, or seen, the fissure pieces as being three dimensional. I have only ever seen them as cracks. Voids which reflect the destruction of the old and the simultaneous creation of the new (or visa versa).
    I was originally inspired by the great scottish artist Andy Goldsworthy after watching the documentary, “Rivers and Tides,” which is about his art. However, Japanese art, architecture, and philosophy have been a large influence on me over the last 16 years as well.
    Thanks for sharing your interpretation. I really enjoyed hearing your thoughts.

    peace,
    harold

  7. Noreen Spence Says:

    I think the idea of a crack which reflects the destruction of the old and the simultaneous creation of the new fits very well with the image/concept of a vine expanding.

    Harold, I’ve been very busy this past month so I missed the Opening but I’m glad I made it down to the Gallery before the show closed. I don’t think I have met you but if I have, forgive me. I am very bad with names. (You need a photograph of yourself somewhere on your website.)

    I loved the show. If I can squeeze out some time today I plan to go back.

    I’m bookmarking your blog. I like to let bloggers know when I do that – otherwise I feel like a stalker….

  8. haroldfeddersen Says:

    Noreen, I don’t think we have met, although I have heard about you for some time. I think it’s best for everyone if I don’t have my image on my site or blog.

    Very glad to hear you liked the show. It has been fun to share the work I have been doing and to hear people’s thoughts on the various pieces. I love to hear what people think about things – it’s like a kind of fuel for me.

    I am also glad to hear that you will visit the blog on a regular basis; guess that means I better blog more often.

    I hope we can meet some time and share our art. I would like to see what you are working on. I remember your piece from last summer – a painting of a clear-cut block (I am pretty sure). Oh well, if I’m wrong I will only look like a fool which wouldn’t be the first time.

    peace,
    harold

  9. Noreen Spence Says:

    I admire people who blog regularly (I could never do it) but an intermittent blog is just as interesting to read.

    Your paintings are incredible, compelling. I did make it back to the Gallery yesterday with a fistfull of money and some hope that maybe it was enough to buy “Convergence: Earth and Water 1” but, not quite. However, you are taking it home so there is still hope for me that I might be able to amass a little more currency in the future. I think that was your best work in the show although there were others I really liked as well. I’m limiting my online “play” time so I haven’t finished looking around your site yet. Is there a bio? You mention University in one blog post. Did you study art? I couldn’t find an email address so I am tossing all this here – probably inappropriately.

    Yes, the cedar stumps was mine. It took a long time to paint because I was experiencing such grief over losing those trees. I can’t tell you how many times we would wander through there and I would think “I have to come to paint these trees”. It was such a shock to take our first spring walk back there. (He took them down in the winter) I was completely disoriented for awhile, trying to figure out where we were until it hit me. I don’t go there anymore. It’s too hard to look at it. We used to deliberately take people back there. I would go ahead a bit so that I could turn around and watch their reactions as they walked through the grove. Everyone would stop and look up.

    Well, that’s life isn’t it? The only thing we can count on is change.

    I’m certain we will meet at some point. I’m currently working towards a show in June of next year, focusing on the pine beetle epidemic. It was good to have those longer periods of cold weather this past winter. Maybe their numbers have been decimated a little here.

  10. haroldfeddersen Says:

    Thank you Noreen for you kinds words about my work. I agree with you that Convergence: Earth and Water I was my strongest piece in the show. I certainly don’t think this is an inappropriate place to chat, although I will email you about said painting.

    I am glad I was right about your painting. I remember that it carried a powerful sadness about it. The loss of a favourite place. I used to play in the forest and fields above Lanfear hill when I was a kid. Now it’s all big ugly houses and a never-opened school that’s a giant storage tank of computer parts and other things the district has no place to hide. Sometimes I am saddened by the loss of those places and then I have to remind myself that “everything is as it is”.

    The Pine Beetle did take a hit this winter. I heard some stats on the CBC radio one day, but they were from Alberta and I can’t remember them. Your new painting theme sounds interesting. I look forward to seeing them some time.

    peace,
    harold

Leave a Reply

