Enlisting helpers

So, as fall descends upon the west coast of Canada again, my time shifts indoors. My pencils and other utensils have been calling and I am preparing to heed that call. I have to complete a piece for a December group show that I will be part of. I have decided to put in either a charcoal/acrylic or graphite/acrylic piece to hang on the wall. My research work is mostly complete and now it’s time to start some initial sketches, with a focus on values. I decided that I would work from photographs which I have doctored already. One thing that challenges me is value. On a ten step grayscale, for example, determining between a 7 and an 8, or a 4 and a 5 is tough. I have made a few grayscale cards that I’ve hole punched. Now I can place the card over the photograph and hopefully see which value I’m working with a little clearer. I just realised, while reading this post, that I should number each step. This may train the eye to connect a step with a number.

The photos are not good, but it gives you an idea. These three little helpers will hopefully make life easier while my eye maybe gets trained to see these values clearer.
peace,
harold
Tags: , , ,

2 Responses to “Enlisting helpers”

  1. Noreen Says:

    Well!
    I came here by chance, not really expecting (but nevertheless hoping) to see something happening.
    yay!

  2. haroldfeddersen Says:

    Thanks Noreen. There should be more coming soonish. I plan on being in the studio tonight.

    I redid my website and would love some critical feedback if you have time, energy, and interest Noreen.

    peace,
    harold

Leave a Reply

