Summoning Intuition through accessing the subconscious

In my last post I said I’d write about the process I used to create Summoning Intuition so here it is.

I was listening to a podcast by Steve Pavlina last week and he was talking about accessing your subconscious. He spoke of two ways to “tap” into the subconscious mind.

The first is to sit with a paper and pen(cil) or at the computer. Ask a question that you want an answer to. Then, you begin to write. After about 15-20 minutes of writing, you will get through the superficial thoughts coming through your writing and you will then access the subconscious mind. Through the writing process you will confront information that wasn’t available prior to the 15-20 minutes.

For Pavlina’s second method, you sit with your eyes closed and ask a question. Images will then appear and you simply watch them. If you are unclear about what the image represent you can simply ask, and the first thought that comes to your mind is the answer. He gives a detailed example to demonstrate this.

I had been struggling to “make” a design for an egg happen for over an hour and decided to take a break. Luckily a friend stopped by for a meal and a conversation. After the visit was over I felt it was time to get back to work. I knew that if I went back to what I was doing with my sketchbook,that I would end up in the same stuck position I was in earlier. Luckily I have experienced this enough in my life to recognise when it is going to happen (maybe not always). I decided to give Pavlina’s second method a try.

I sat with my hands on my lap and simply said, “Elegant and simple.” It took less than 30 seconds for the image to start to surface. I grabbed my pencil and started to draw what I was seeing but was told to wait. I put my pencil back down and kept watching. The image formed and then as it became clearer I got an idea which I haven’t had the opportunity to explore before. Usually the top of the egg has the blow hole in it. This means that I have to work my design idea around that hole. This particular goose egg had the blow hole in the bottom of the egg. This meant that I could do something different with this egg than I normally do. Between this revelation and the image that came I was pretty happy. What I had struggled with for over an hour earlier had resolved itself in around a minute. I have only tried this once so far so I can’t really give much efficacy to this process, but I will say that it was a smooth experience for me that I will try again.

Summoning Intuition. A carved goose egg.

peace,

Harold

Tags: , , , , ,

One Response to “Summoning Intuition through accessing the subconscious”

  1. Lightning Says:

    im trying to do something harder. what im trying to do is remember something i forgotten when i was born, like why am i here, who or what am it looking for. i DO know im suppose to find something dono what tho for al i know it could be the real me. lol

    love the egg btw

Leave a Reply

