Portrait painting of Ramana Maharishi

I completed a portrait painting of Ramana Maharishi yesterday. I’ve been learning a technique that makes portrait painting, in this style, much easier than anything else I’ve tried. I have never considered myself a person who can paint people, but the responses I got from my painting of Palden Gyatso had me rethinking how I see myself in that regard. I’ve since taken on portrait painting and have done three or four of them.

Ramana Maharishi is a unique and important individual for people who practice spirituality. I won’t go into a long diatribe about it here as I assume if you are interested in him, then you will seek further for yourself, but I do want to add this quote from wikipedia. “He radiated a silent power which stilled the minds of those who came to him and occasionally gave them a direct experience of his state. In later years, he became more willing to speak and respond to questions, though he always insisted that the silence he emanated was his purest teaching and that his verbal teachings were only for those who could not understand his silence.”

Ramana Maharishi

Ramana Maharishi

Harold

Tags: , , , , ,

2 Responses to “Portrait painting of Ramana Maharishi”

  1. klaas Says:

    beautiful, what a presence! delightful.

  2. haroldfeddersen Says:

    Thanks Klaas. He was a powerful presence of stillness (according to what I’ve read and seen).
    ~Harold

Leave a Reply

